In Haste

March 6, 1955

Dear Dad & Russ,

Well, here I am in Siam! Just like that! I’m absolutely lost without my typewriter so this will just be a short [handwritten] note.

Since arriving in Bangkok I have had one hilarious adventure after another! You just can’t imagine all that’s happened.

I could never, not in a million years, begin to describe this oriental fairyland to you. As a matter of fact, I can hardly believe myself that these wonderful sights I am seeing are real! Bangkok is something straight out from the pages of a storybook – only better!

I am gorging myself on milkshakes, sodas, banana splits, hamburgers, hot dogs, waffles, cakes – and CINEMASCOPE! Even in Siam!!!

The Siamese people are most friendly but have about as much organization as a patchwork quilt. I have never in my life seen anything quite like it. I shall have year’s supply of stories to tell you just about Bangkok alone.

Can you imagine a huge temple containing but ONE statue – a gold-plated Buddha 160 feet long and 40 feet high!!! That’s just one of the many things I have seen in this fabulous city.

By the way, here are two facts about Siam that might surprise you: 1) Everyone here speaks ENGLISH, and 2) There actually was an “Anna and the King of Siam”

Back to the bush on Tuesday and I’ll write you a good long letter.Till then, bye for now,

love,

Dave

PS: Don’t worry now, I’m a real Francis Drake when it comes to travelling!

D.

David’s photo of a golden Buddha, Bangkok

The Reclining Golden Buddha in Bangkok (modern)

Leave a Reply

